You are here

Community Schools

Community Schools are partnerships across school districts, healthcare providers, colleges and universities, government agencies, and businesses that focus on the holistic support of students and families. The focus is on integration of academics, health and social services, youth and community development/engagement towards healthier communities. The Community School partnership with Lehigh University includes support for all South Side residents, with specific school partnership with Donegan Elementary School and Broughal Middle School. It is headed up by Carolina Hernandez, Assistant Dean & Director of Community Service Office, in her role with the Center for Community Engagement.  In partnership with our community school coordinators, Alicia Creazzo of Broughal Middle School, Rosa Carides-Hof of Donegan Elementary School, and Paige Hoffman of Fountain Hill Elementary School, our community school partnership has been recognized nationwide through the Coalition for Community Schools and at the 2016 and 2018 Community Schools National Forum.